AI
Claude Gets Rupee Prices That Still Need a Card
Anthropic billed Claude in rupees from July 2026 at ₹2,000 a month, GST in, with no UPI, while OpenAI and Google already take UPI and sell ₹399 plans.
Anthropic listed rupee prices for Claude Pro, Max, and Team in India on July 13, 2026, starting at ₹2,000 a month on the annual Pro plan. The stickers include GST. Checkout still runs on cards and on Apple and Google app stores, not UPI.
The U.S. annual Pro list is $17 a month. The India figure is about $21. That is a currency change with tax folded in, not a cheaper India SKU.
Rupee Stickers at a Dollar Rate
Local prices began showing for some Indian users on Claude’s website and mobile apps in July. Anthropic did not issue a numbered press note, and it did not answer questions on the rollout. The free tier stayed in place. Paid seats switched from dollar bills routed on international cards to rupee totals that already include GST.
Web and app-store figures differ by a little. The web list is the clean comparison against U.S. dollar plans, because those India prices include local tax and the U.S. list does not.
CLAUDE INDIA PLANS, JULY 2026
| Plan | India price | U.S. list | How it bills |
|---|---|---|---|
| Claude Pro | ₹2,000 a month (₹24,000 a year) | $17 a month | Annual, GST in |
| Claude Pro | ₹2,399 a month | Not listed on the India web comparison | Monthly, GST in |
| Claude Max 5x | ₹11,999 a month | $100 a month at the Max floor | Monthly, GST in |
| Claude Max 20x | ₹23,999 a month | Not stated on that comparison | Monthly, GST in |
| Team Standard | ₹2,399 per user a month | $20 per seat a month | Annual contract, GST in |
| Team Standard | ₹2,999 per user a month | $20 per seat a month | Monthly, GST in |
| Team Premium | ₹11,999 per user a month | Not stated on that comparison | Annual contract, GST in |
| Team Premium | ₹14,999 per user a month | Not stated on that comparison | Monthly, GST in |
People who already paid in dollars through a card that rebates forex will recognise the math at once. The rupee line removes conversion friction and the international-markup fight at the bank. It does not mark Claude down for Indian purchasing power. Developers reading the July list asked the blunt version of that question: had the price fallen, or had the currency merely changed. The table is the answer.
OpenAI and Google Already Bill Over UPI
OpenAI turned on rupee prices for ChatGPT in August 2025 and added UPI in the same push. It also launched ChatGPT Go in India at ₹399 a month, a rung Anthropic still does not offer. ChatGPT Plus lists at ₹1,999 a month, Pro at ₹19,900, and Team at ₹2,099 a seat, GST in. Google bills Gemini through Play in India, which already accepts UPI, Indian cards, and net banking. Google AI Plus is ₹399 a month. Google AI Pro is ₹1,950.
INDIA CHECKOUT, THREE ASSISTANTS
| Product | Low paid plan | Main pro plan | UPI on the subscription |
|---|---|---|---|
| Claude | None below Pro | ₹2,000 a month annual / ₹2,399 monthly | No |
| ChatGPT | Go ₹399 a month | Plus ₹1,999 a month | Yes, from August 2025 |
| Gemini | AI Plus ₹399 a month | AI Pro ₹1,950 a month | Yes, via Google Play |
Claude’s India checkout still wants a credit card, a debit card that will clear an international-style bill, or an app-store charge. That is a real filter in a country where UPI is how most digital payments move. A rupee total on a card form is easier than a dollar total on the same form. It is not the same product as a ₹399 plan that clears in PhonePe.
Anthropic has been adjacent to UPI in other ways. Razorpay and NPCI have piloted agentic UPI inside Claude chats so a user can order food or groceries in the thread. That is Claude spending rupees for someone else. It is not Claude collecting rupees for itself.
Where Claude Use Clusters Inside India
The second-largest-market line is true and incomplete. Anthropic’s India brief on the Economic Index, built from about one million Claude.ai conversations logged 13 to 20 November 2025, puts India at 5.8% of total Claude.ai use, behind only the United States. On a per-capita basis, adjusting for working-age population, India ranked 101st of 116 countries with enough volume. The global sample was 975,160 conversations. The India slice was 58,098.
INDIA ON THE ECONOMIC INDEX
- Share of use: 5.8% of Claude.ai conversations, second worldwide, from the November 2025 window.
- Per-capita rank: 101st of 116 countries, so the headline share is population plus a dense tech workforce, not everyday use.
- Four states: Maharashtra 15.5%, Tamil Nadu 13.2%, Karnataka 12.7%, and Delhi 10.5%, or 51.9% of India’s traffic together.
- Software load: 45.2% of mapped tasks are software-related, first globally, ahead of Vietnam at 42.1% and Egypt at 39.2%.
Work made up 51.3% of Indian Claude.ai use against 46% globally. Coursework was 20.9% against 19.3%. Personal use was 27.8% against 34.7%. Indian users finished tasks in 14.8 minutes that Anthropic estimated would take 3.8 hours without the model, a 15x speedup against a 12x global figure. Educational and instructional tasks are 12% of Claude.ai use in India on the company’s own office announcement.
The brief’s own implication is the one the rupee list does not touch. Broadening use means looking past software and IT services. Four states that hold Bangalore, Hyderabad, Chennai, Mumbai, and Delhi NCR already account for most of the traffic. A GST-inclusive Pro seat sold to that cohort is a billing upgrade for people who were close to paying anyway.
What a Paid Indian Seat Includes
Claude Pro in India defaults to Sonnet 5 and adds Opus plus Fable 5. It advertises five times the free-tier usage, Research mode, unlimited projects, memory, file uploads, web search, voice mode, Claude Code, and Microsoft 365 hooks. Fable 5 access for non-U.S. users had been cut in June 2026 and then restored; Mythos 5 stayed limited. That episode is why some Indian founders treated model access as a policy risk, not only a price problem.
Max is the heavy-usage add-on, sold as 5x and 20x Pro limits, with priority at peak hours, longer Claude Code sessions, and earlier feature access. Team Standard and Team Premium add a larger context window, API-rate usage credits, central billing, admin controls, and single sign-on. Client data on Team is excluded from training by default.
WHAT THE PAID SEATS ADD
- Pro: Sonnet 5 by default, Opus and Fable 5, 5x free usage, Research, projects, memory, voice, Claude Code, Microsoft 365.
- Max: The Pro stack at 5x or 20x limits, peak priority, longer coding sessions, early features.
- Team: Seat admin, central rupee billing, SSO, API credits, a larger context window, and a training opt-out on client data.
That feature mix matches the Index. Indian Claude traffic is already code, systems work, and office production. Air India has been using Claude Code so developers ship custom software faster. CRED reported 2x faster feature delivery and 10% better test coverage with Claude Code. Anyone weighing Claude Code against OpenAI Codex in an Indian team is looking at that same seat, now priced in rupees so finance can approve it without a dollar PO.
Bengaluru Now Sells Claude to Banks
Anthropic opened its Bengaluru office on 16 February 2026, its second Asian site after Tokyo, under Irina Ghose, Managing Director of India. Ghose joined on 16 January 2026 from Microsoft India, where she had been managing director. The company said India run-rate revenue had doubled since it announced the expansion on 7 October 2025.
Cognizant is deploying Claude to 350,000 employees globally, a figure Anthropic put on the Bengaluru announcement. Ghose has said TCS is putting Claude with 50,000 associates and that Infosys built an Anthropic Centre of Excellence on its Topaz platform. Axis Bank, NPCI, IndusInd Bank, and Godrej Industries show up in that same enterprise list, alongside Swiggy, CRED, Razorpay, Freshworks, and Rocket.
On 4 August 2026 Ghose said Claude would support in-country inference in India through Amazon Bedrock, with requests routed to an India endpoint so data stays in the country during inference. Sandeep Dutta, President of AWS India and South Asia, said banks and government agencies could then run Claude on the same infrastructure as their other critical workloads. On 10 September 2026, at the Global Fintech Fest in Mumbai, Ghose said NPCI is building its AI platform on Claude.
India’s banks, insurers, telecoms, public and government agencies steward the data of a billion people. When that data can stay in India, AI moves from pilots into the systems that matter most.
Irina Ghose, Managing Director of India, Anthropic
Language work sits on that same track. Anthropic said it spent six months lifting quality in 10 widely spoken Indian languages, Hindi, Bengali, Marathi, Telugu, Tamil, Punjabi, Gujarati, Kannada, Malayalam, and Urdu, and is building local-task evaluations with Karya and the Collective Intelligence Project. The Ministry of Statistics and Programme Implementation, with Bharat Digital, launched the first official Indian government MCP server so models can query national statistics. Anthropic donated the Model Context Protocol standard to the Linux Foundation; Swiggy already uses it so people can order groceries and book dining inside Claude.
Ghose also said the first Claude Certification programme for partners had started in Bengaluru, with a target of certifying up to 5,000 professionals. That is a channel motion, the thing TCS and Infosys sell, not a consumer coupon.
NAMED INDIA DEPLOYMENTS
- IT services: Cognizant at 350,000 staff globally; TCS at 50,000 associates; Infosys on Topaz with a dedicated Anthropic centre.
- Finance and payments: Axis Bank, IndusInd Bank, NPCI, Razorpay, CRED.
- Operators and builders: Air India on Claude Code; Swiggy on MCP; Emergent, which Anthropic said reached $25 million in annual recurring revenue and two million users in under five months, built on Claude.
A Team seat in rupees is how those firms get a line item their controllers will sign. A Pro seat at ₹2,399 a month, card only, is how a staff engineer already on Claude stops fighting forex. Neither motion is a mass conversion off the free tier.
Dates That Got Claude to a Rupee Checkout
THE INDIA BUILD
- October 7, 2025: Anthropic announces a Bengaluru office as its second Asia Pacific site after Tokyo, citing India as second in Claude.ai consumer use.
- January 16, 2026: Irina Ghose joins as Managing Director of India, leaving Microsoft India.
- February 16, 2026: The Bengaluru office opens. Anthropic publishes the India Economic Index brief and a string of enterprise, education, and agriculture partners. Run-rate revenue in India has doubled since October.
- June 2026: Non-U.S. access to Fable 5 and Mythos 5 is suspended, then Fable 5 is restored; Mythos 5 stays limited.
- July 13, 2026: Rupee prices appear for some Indian users on Claude web and mobile. Pro, Max, and Team carry GST-inclusive INR stickers. UPI is not on checkout.
- August 4, 2026: Ghose says in-country inference on Amazon Bedrock is coming, aimed at banks, insurers, telecoms, and government.
- September 10, 2026: At the Global Fintech Fest, Ghose says NPCI is building its AI platform on Claude.
Seven months from the office announcement to a rupee SKU is fast for a billing project. It is slow next to OpenAI’s 2025 move, which paired the currency with UPI and a ₹399 plan in the same season. Anthropic spent that interval on Ghose, the office, IT-services seats, Indic languages, MCP, and a data-residency path. The July list is what that sequence produces: a professional price in local currency.
Cardholders get a cleaner charge and skip the dollar conversion. The per-capita gap that put India 101st is still a UPI-and-₹399 problem, and Claude’s own checkout does not take that payment.
-
AI3 months agoFable 5 Came Back Under a Commerce On-Off Switch
-
AI4 months agoGoogle’s SpaceX GPU Lease Has a Sept. 30 Deadline
-
CRYPTO4 months agoPlasma One’s XPL Locks Face a 1.81 Billion Cliff
-
APPS4 months agoDGO’s Rs 549 World Cup Pass Cost Fans Sleep and Data
-
AI4 months agoMoonshot AI’s $30 Billion Ask Became a $35 Billion Close
-
NEWS4 months agoColorOS 17 Device List Spans Oppo, OnePlus and Realme
-
GAMING4 months agoXbox Cuts 3,200 Jobs After Five Years of Thin Returns
-
GAMING3 months agoThe RTX 4050 Under Rs 70,000 Hides a Wattage Gap
